visual
visual

세미나

  • HOME
  • >
  • 소식
  • >
  • 세미나

Aperiodic crystals in low dimensions

2016.05.10 18:55

Physics 조회 수:947

장소 E6. #1501(1st fl.) 
일시 May 13 (Fri.), 1:30 PM 
연사 Dr. Young-Woo Son, Dept. of Physics, KIAS 

Aperiodic crystals in low dimensions

 

May 13 (Fri.), 1:30 PM, E6. #1501(1st fl.)
Dr. Young-Woo Son, Dept. of Physics, KIAS

 

The cylindrical multishell structure is one of the prevalent atomic arrangements in nanowires. Being multishell, the well-defined atomic periodicity is hardly realized in it because the periodic units of individual shells therein generally do not match except for very few cases, posing a challenge to understanding its physical properties. Here we show that moire patterns generated by superimposing atomic lattices of individual shells are decisive in determining its electronic structures. Double-walled carbon nanotubes, as an example, are shown to have spectacular variations in their electronic properties from metallic to semiconducting and further to insulating states depending on their moire patterns, even when they are composed of only semiconducting nanotubes with almost similar energy gaps and diameters. Thus, aperiodic multishell nanowires can be classified into one-dimensional moire crystals with distinct electronic structures.


Contact: Eun Gook Moon, Physics Dept., (egmoon@kaist.ac.kr)

 

번호 일시 장소 연사 제목
288 December 18 (Tue.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Shin-ichi Uchida  Road to Higher Tc Superconductivity file
287 October 18 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Jongseok Lee  Applications of nonlinear optics for condensed matter researches file
286 October 17 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Namkyoo Park  Top down manipulation of Waves : From Metamaterials, Correlated Disorder, Quantum Analogy, to Digital Processing file
285 September 26 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Han Seb Moon  Entanglement Swapping with Autonomous Polarization-Entangled Photon-Pairs from Warm Atomic Ensemble file
284 October 11 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Joung-Real Ahn  Dirac electrons in a graphene quasicrystal file
283 October 26 (Fri.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Kyusung Hwang  Coexisting triple-point and nodal-line topological magnons and thermal Hall effect in pyrochlore iridates file
282 November 14 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Ji-Hun Kang  Semi-classical model of polariton propagation file
281 June 22 (Fri.), 04:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Daniel Sando  Tuning functional properties of BiFeO3 films using strain and growth chemistry file
280 June 22 (Fri.), 04:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Daniel Sando  Tuning functional properties of BiFeO3 films using strain and growth chemistry file
279 November 7 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Je-Hyung Kim  Integrated quantum photonics with solid-state quantum emitters file
278 September 20 (Thu.), 16:00  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Joo-Hiuk Son  Toward Cancer Treatment Using Terahertz Radiation: Demethylation of Cancer DNA file
277 October 29 (Tue.), 14:30 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Jörg Wrachtrup  Quantum sensing file
276 May 29 (Tue.), 04:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Jae-Won Jang  Investigation on metal nanostructure/semiconductor junction and its applications file
275 October 25 (Thu.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Gang Li  Abelian and non-Abelian dark photons file
274 June 27 (Wed.), 13:30 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Jung Sik Park  Magnetic reversal of artificial spin ice file
273 November 29 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Kee suk Hong  양자 칸델라 실현을 위한 단일 광자 발생장치 개발 file
272 November 8 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  이종완 박사  Conformality lost file
271 September 5 (Wed.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Dirk Wulferding  Shining a light on fractional excitations file
270 December 3 (Tue.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Jong Mok Ok  Toward Quantum Materials with Correlated Oxides file
269 February 20 (Thu), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Seunghyun Khim  Unconventional superconductivity in the locally non-centrosymmetric heavy-fermion CeRh2As2 file