visual
visual

세미나

  • HOME
  • >
  • 소식
  • >
  • 세미나

Let there be topological superconductors

2016.07.04 22:04

Physics 조회 수:2073

장소 #1323(E6-2. 1st fl.) 
일시 Jul. 07 (Thu.) 2PM 
연사 Dr. Eun Ah Kim, CORNELL UNIV. 

Let there be topological superconductors

 

Jul. 07 (Thu.) 2PM, #1323(E6-2. 1st fl.)
Dr. Eun Ah Kim, CORNELL UNIV.

 

Superconductivity research has traditionally been discovery driven. Of course $T_c$ is a non-universal quantity that cannot be predicted, hence off-limits to theorists. Nevertheless, it must be possible to reach intelligent predictions for superconductors that are interesting for reasons other than high $T_c$ per se. In this talk I will present our recent results proposing two different platforms for topological superconductivity: p-doped transition metal dichalcogenides (TMD’s) and quantum spin-ice/metal heterostructure. For the p-doped TMD’s the strategy is to break the spin-degeneracy in momentum space. For the quantum spin-ice/metal the strategy is to let the emergent gauge field of quantum spin-ice mediate pairing in the metallic layer. I will close the talk with experimental implications and prospects for realizing the proposed topological superconductors.


Contact: Eun Gook Moon, Physics Dept., (egmoon@kaist.ac.kr)

번호 일시 장소 연사 제목
87 October 17 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Namkyoo Park  Top down manipulation of Waves : From Metamaterials, Correlated Disorder, Quantum Analogy, to Digital Processing file
86 October 15 (Mon.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Yongjoo Baek  Universal properties of macroscopic current-carrying systems file
85 October 11 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Joung-Real Ahn  Dirac electrons in a graphene quasicrystal file
84 September 26 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Han Seb Moon  Entanglement Swapping with Autonomous Polarization-Entangled Photon-Pairs from Warm Atomic Ensemble file
83 November 14 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Ji-Hun Kang  Semi-classical model of polariton propagation file
82 June 22 (Fri.), 04:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Daniel Sando  Tuning functional properties of BiFeO3 films using strain and growth chemistry file
81 June 22 (Fri.), 04:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Daniel Sando  Tuning functional properties of BiFeO3 films using strain and growth chemistry file
80 October 18 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Jongseok Lee  Applications of nonlinear optics for condensed matter researches file
79 May 29 (Tue.), 04:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Jae-Won Jang  Investigation on metal nanostructure/semiconductor junction and its applications file
78 September 20 (Thu.), 16:00  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Joo-Hiuk Son  Toward Cancer Treatment Using Terahertz Radiation: Demethylation of Cancer DNA file
77 October 26 (Fri.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Kyusung Hwang  Coexisting triple-point and nodal-line topological magnons and thermal Hall effect in pyrochlore iridates file
76 November 7 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Je-Hyung Kim  Integrated quantum photonics with solid-state quantum emitters file
75 June 27 (Wed.), 13:30 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Jung Sik Park  Magnetic reversal of artificial spin ice file
74 November 29 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Kee suk Hong  양자 칸델라 실현을 위한 단일 광자 발생장치 개발 file
73 October 25 (Thu.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Gang Li  Abelian and non-Abelian dark photons file
72 November 8 (Thu.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  이종완 박사  Conformality lost file
71 October 29 (Tue.), 14:30 PM  #1323, E6-2  Prof. Jörg Wrachtrup  Quantum sensing file
70 September 5 (Wed.), 16:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Dirk Wulferding  Shining a light on fractional excitations file
69 December 3 (Tue.), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Dr. Jong Mok Ok  Toward Quantum Materials with Correlated Oxides file
68 February 20 (Thu), 4:00 PM  #1323, E6-2  Seunghyun Khim  Unconventional superconductivity in the locally non-centrosymmetric heavy-fermion CeRh2As2 file